“hey, it’s me again.”

well. i’ll start with an apology. one for the lack of updates, as well as what may turn out to be a lack of depth in this post because i’m currently distracted watching “alley cats strike” on the disney channel right now. it’s definitely one of those movies that i haven’t visited at least five years, though it’s also one of those movies i’d recall with each 7-10 split i’d achieve at the bowling lanes. i’m also surprised by how different the movie dialogue is from what i remembered back in the day. when i was re-watching “brink,” i didn’t know they called each other “jerkweeds.” but then again, at that time, low ankle socks were just but a dream, so you can’t really blame them.

with my current “employment status,” i’ve found myself with the ability to do a lot of things in my free time, some of which includes replaying a handful of games from my childhood. with this abundance of free time, i was able to start up a new file on my friend’s copy of harvest moon 64. if you’ve never stumbled across “hm64,” you’d probably be surprised that it’s a game about farming. yes, i’ve been playing a game about farming. just today i set up my greenhouse, entered my horse into a race, and harvested a pretty decent amount of tomatoes. it may not sound that interesting at first, but this stuffs addicting. i could spend about 12 hours with controller in hand.

so, i guess one would catergorize the game in to the simulation/rpg genre. the main concept is that your grandpa has passed away and it’s up to you and your character to help maintain the farm that he has left over to you. i’ve played three other versions of this game on the psx, ps2, and snes, and they’re all pretty much the same in respect to the story. and in all of the versions that i’ve played, i’ve always named my dog, “rush,” which is my tribute to megaman’s trusty dog companion in the megaman series, just in case you didn’t know.

my only criticism of the game is that it sucks if you mess up. in the game, if you don’t pray to the “spring goddess” for good weather, you’ll pretty much get hit by four typhoons in one week, which is what happened in my game. typhoons suck. if your livestock gets caught in one, they’ll be pissed, get sick, and die from disease if they didn’t die initially from being in the typhoon alone. didn’t know that on my first playthrough. my bad.

anyway. i just wanted to let the internet-blog-o-sphere know that i was still alive so i’ll be sure to update a bit more often. be sure to check in. and i’ll leave you with this video. k. bye.

1 Comment

Filed under ramblings

One response to ““hey, it’s me again.”

  1. natherlin

    what the. you got the greenhouse already?!

    are you literally playing for 12 hours straight. that’s not a question, that was a statement of utter shock and slight admiration. i played about 5 straight hours of twilight princess and had to stop cuz of work, but i just felt nauseous for a good 2, 3 hours after.

    .. maybe it’s cuz i’m using our 46″ hd tv.. or maybe i just need to build up my tolerance.

Leave a comment